Fallen is Babylon by Michael Wentela

Fallen is Babylon imageBrief Summary: Vann Arnett has a problem: he’s lonely. There are also vampires and the possible end of the world, but he’s doing the best he can to survive alone by himself with his dog Rusty. And he’s pretty good at it too—until the day a post-apocalyptic military unit comes to town and things go a little haywire.

The Tsundoku Scale: Bottom of the Pile, 3 out of 10.

The Good: It’s very well written, I will give it that. Some parts were kind of funny, and I will also give it that. And I liked Arnett as the bold, but contemplative hero. There were parts that almost made the story interesting, like the fact that some vampires are found to not eat people, or how Arnett’s interactions with the military could have played out, but nothing ever made it quite good enough. But mostly, Fallen is Babylon was a pretty quick read which eased some of the pain of reading it.

The Bad: I’ve said before, and I’ll say it again: I hate vampires. It takes a lot for me to turn the other cheek and praise a vampire book, and Fallen is Babylon does not cut it. I hate the whole inconceivable obsession with vampire sexuality, and when one of the first scenes of the book is a vampire orgy outside Arnett’s fortified mansion in order to tempt him to come out, I’m not happy. The first third of the book is almost a complete rip-off of I am Legend, complete with one man living alone against an apocalyptic world, creatures that cannot deal with the sun, and even a dog as a companion. I was dying to see Arnett’s heartfelt or horrifying reconnection with his vampire-changed former wife, but it never happened and the threat of a betrayal within the military unit never played out quite as loudly as the chatter of gunfire and pitter patter of feet running from vampires. The vampires were so close to having some kind of emotion—what made them different from their former human selves, were they really that different from normal humans, why had the Prophet gained such control, but all the loose ends remained loose ends, and the book remained loose and unfulfilling.

